Governor Scott Appoints 2 to  LSSC District Board of Trustees

Governor Rick Scott has announced one reappointment and one appointment to the Lake-Sumter State College District Board of Trustees, effective October 1, 2018.

Jennifer Hooten, of Bushnell, is a teacher for the Sumter County School District. She received her bachelor’s degree from St. Leo University. Hooten succeeds Kelly Rice and is appointed for a term ending May 31, 2022.

Emily Lee, of Eustis, is a retired integration specialist from Community Coalition Alliance. She received her bachelor’s degree from Southern University, and her master’s degree from Mankato State University. Lee is reappointed for a term ending May 31, 2022.

 The District Board of Trustees is the legal governing body for Lake-Sumter State College and is composed of nine dedicated citizens who serve without pay. The governor appoints five citizens from Lake County and four from Sumter County to four-year terms. The District Board meets monthly and meeting details are available at

The appointments are subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate.